birth

Our Labor Letters To Ramsey

Labor was just the beginning and here are our letters we wrote for ours.

 

Brittany Elizabeth,

God is bigger than your labor.

I don’t say that to make your labor less than it is; not even close. But what we might usually say, things like “God uses suffering to make us more like Himself,” or even that “Jesus suffered, too,” may not actually bring comfort. They are true, certainly, but they do not take away what you are enduring.

When I say that God is bigger than your labor, I mean that His purposes in it are far greater than you can possibly ever begin to fathom. He has, in His infinite wisdom, chosen you from before the foundation of the world to bear Ramsey into it. You. Not someone else. We aren’t going to be meeting Ramsey on the street someday with a completely different set of parents. No. You are his mother. You are the women chosen to endure this labor, to have carried him for ten months, to be the first to hold him close, all for God’s glorious purposes.

What those are, I can’t say. I can only hope, and pray, that His purposes are to redeem our Ramsey, to save his soul and draw Ramsey to Himself, that we might call him our brother. No matter what, however, the God of the universe has intervened in time to use you in bringing Ramsey into the world.

What an absolutely marvelous privilege.

Not only that, sweetheart, but He has taken something cursed by sin, childbirth itself, and redeemed it. Every second of your labor aids in Ramsey’s birth, aids in his development, aids in bonding the two of you closer together. These are the thoughts that should spur you forward, that with every contraction, every push, every bead of sweat or sharp pain, you are faithfully obeying the Lord as He has called you, and even in this moment taking such wonderful care of your son. For that, I am grateful to you beyond measure.

What a gift it is to have gotten to walk alongside you in this. We’re still pups, barely scraping our 30s. and I know that we will look back on Ramsey’s birth as such a pivotal, defining moment in our marriage and in our family. From here, we begin to take faithful steps forward in what God is doing in our lives. If you had asked me when we got married what it all would have come together like, I never would have been able to imagine this.

God is bigger than your labor, He is bigger than our marriage, than our family, than all things. And for that we can rejoice, to know that in enduring through this momentary pain an eternal glory beyond comparison awaits, where with perfected hearts we can see clearly what God was and is and always will be doing.

I am so proud of you. I love you.

You’re my hero, Brittany.

_________________________

Ramsey Sinclair,

It’s here.

 

The moment you’re Daddy and I have spent 9 months dreaming, learning, and preparing for is right now. Soon, (very soon!) every memory, joy, and challenge that has led us to being your parents will be surpassed exponentially by the gaze of your sweet face. The wonder and utter astonishment you have provided your Daddy and I is hard to express in words. It’s strange to believe that for almost a year of my life I have gotten to spend my days having known yours by only one way and here very soon all that will change as your Daddy and I will get to experience the rich culmination of your arrival as it’s made complete to us by sight. That what started with you being known solely inside of me will end with you being known even more intimately by us both

You are our touchable expression of understanding our Savior’s gospel in ways we couldn’t have known by any other means before. What a privilege it is to be chosen to labor for you, Ramsey Sinclair. It’s an intimacy our God has chosen specifically only my heart to know and if there is one thought I want to remember right now in this moment it’s that: just as I was designed to carry you, I have been uniquely designed just as much to bring you here and it’s worth it. You are worth every tear shed, every intense pain my body undergoes, and every prayer cried out to our Lord because the the joy of your coming far outweighs it all.

We cannot wait you to be here. You’re Daddy has been so diligent in prayer and his care to us. He would even wake up early each morning to make us breakfast and would spend his evenings reading books preparing his heart for being your father. He is so attentive to us and has loved us well through this pregnancy. In fact, he so lovingly is probably reading this to me now, rubbing my back, and telling me how great of a job I have been doing. He is the best encourager that way and if there is one thing I want you to know about him it’s that with him leading and protecting us, we are safe and led strong under his care. There will not be a thing to big he will not lay down his life for to uphold his call as husband and father to us and there will be no emotion you feel he will ever be to busy to hear and hold in the highest esteem to care for. And soon…I will get to see you held by him.

Thank you for changing our world’s entirely. Every bit of it is worth it getting to become your Mama. We’ll be seeing you soon, my little love.

-Mama

photography by The Montoya Collective

Leave a Reply

